Skip to content

Exercise With Purpose

January 29, 2014

Image

Why do you want to exercise, eat better, or be “healthy” ? Seems like a small question but the answer to that question will reveal quite a bit. Knowing the “why” helps you weed out what is not important and helps add in what is. The reasons I do what I do is because I want to spend time being active with my family and I want to maintain a high quality of life when I get older. Knowing this about myself I will never run a marathon, do a lot of boot camp classes, or go crazy on the treadmill. I know that eating more fruits, veggies, lean meats, and whole grains while exercising 3-4 days a week for an hour will take care of what I want done. This information allows me to be productive, efficient, and quite frankly happier with the activity I chose to partake in.  Before you start your journey to better health ask yourself these three questions:

1. What are my goals? If you do not set reasonable goals then will not know what you are working towards

2. How will I reach my goal? Whatever it is going to take to get to were you want to be. These steps could include hiring a trainer, joining a gym, walking around the neighborhood.

3. Who will be my support system? It is nearly impossible to go on this journey by yourself. Whether its a spouse, trainer, best friend, etc you will need someone to help hold you accountable and honestly someone to vent to.

These questions do not require a lot of thinking but a little thought is needed. The answers given will help fuel you to your goals because you know what you are working towards and the steps needed to get there. This is energy you can pull from on the days that you do not feel like doing the right thing. Once these three questions are answered you have increased your chance of success before you even step foot in a gym, lifted the first weight, or ran the first mile

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

