Skip to content

Injury Weight Gain

July 19, 2013

Injuries suck!!!!!!! I hurt my knee really bad almost a week ago and it is really taking a toll on my workouts. Plyometrics, interval running, sprints all have to take a backseat for the next few weeks or months. Doing those type of workouts were the way that I kept my intensity and metabolism up. Now, as a result of this injury, I know for a fact that less energy will be exerted throughout the day which could lead to weight gain. After thinking about it, I have come up with a  game-plan so that this injury does not take me back to square one. Here are the steps that I am taking to do just that:

1. Cutting down on caloric intake – Since less energy will be used throughout the day less food is needed.

2. Work non-injured body parts harder – Since I hurt my knee I cannot do as many sets of lower body exercises so I increased how many sets I do for upper body/core and decreased rest time.

3. Not using the injury as an excuse to not move around – Whether its walking or yard work, just get out and move.

4. Use different cardio equipment that wont hurt the injured area – My go-to pieces are the upright and recumbent bike.

5.  DO NOT hide the injury – Tell a Personal Trainer or Physical Therapist (or health care provider) about it ASAP so they can help plan workouts around it.

With these steps you can still workout hard without further injuring your body. Do not let this setback cause you lose out on all the progress you have made!!!!!!!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

