Skip to content

Turn Up The Music

May 15, 2013

Image

I do not know what I would do if I couldn’t listen to music during my workout. It seems like my workouts are so much better if I am listening to music I love. Turns out research has proven what plenty of people already knew; music does in fact enhance workouts. So much so that the USA Track & Field has banned portable music players from its events due to ” safety issues and its competitive edge”.  According to Costas Karageorghis, Ph.D., from London’s Brunel University School of Sport and Education, “music can reduce the perception of effort significantly and increase endurance by as much as 15%”

Tips for Using Music During Workouts:

1. Make multiple playlists that depend on mood and type of workout

2. Use a shock absorbent protector to shield your music player from drops

3. If you are running outside keep the music high enough to keep you moving but low enough so you can be aware of what is happening around you

4. Use headphones that are made for working out (I like the flexible ear hook ones the best)

5. Change the music up every once and a while so you don’t get bored with your playlist 

My workout playlist is very aggressive. The workplace can be stressful and the loud yelling, bass, and drum machines help power me through a workout that I may not be in the mood to do. At first I used my phone as my music player but the temptation to Facebook  tweet, or text lengthened my workouts. Now I use a $30 Sansa mp3 player to get the job done. Whatever you use, fill it up with your favorite songs and be ready to take your workouts to new heights.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

