Skip to content

Gotta Keep On Running

April 26, 2013

I have a confession to make; I use to hate running and other forms of cardio (still kinda do). I mean I hated it with a passion. In my mind i figured if I lifted hard enough I could avoid it and still be in good shape. Boy was I wrong about that theory lol. Last year my weight got up to about up to about 227lbs and my body fat was a cool 25%. As a trainer I was not setting a great example for my clients and other staff. After barely fitting into a suit for my best friends wedding in 2012 I knew I needed to make a change.

The first day I got on the treadmill I about died after only about 10 minues of jogging but little by little it got easier and now I am up to 30 minutes solid. I have now gotten my weight down to 215lbs and my body fat is 15-17%. It really is amazing what a little cardio will do for you. My goal is 30 minutes of hard cardio 3-4 times a week and so far Im sticking to it.

Running Tips:

1. Find something you like (running outside, treadmill, running track, etc). I like interval running because the speeds change every minute and its challenging

2. Start small. If you are just getting into it start off with 5 or 10 minutes to get your joints, muscles and ligaments used to the new load they are carrying.

3. Wear comfortable clothing like Nike Dri-fit, Under Armour,etc to wick sweat away and keep you cooler longer

4. Run soft. Pounding your feet against pavement, tracks, or treadmills will send vibrations up through you knees and hips and will bring about a host of future problems.

5. Wear comfortable shoes

Follow these tips and your attitude towards running might change too.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

